The San Francisco Board of Supervisors recently took actions to approve a long term management plan that includes spending taxpayer dollars to drain the Sharp Park Wetlands. The City of San Francisco has a documented history of harming, killing and harassing federally protected California Red-Legged Frogs (Rana draytonii) when they drain this rare wetland ecosystem. Their reason to drain the wetlands: to create dry land for a money-losing golf course. 

SAVE THE FROGS! partners have appealed the Board's actions and an appeal hearing will take place February 28th, 2017. Click here to see the letter submitted to the SF Board of Supervisors by SAVE THE FROGS! Founder Dr. Kerry Kriger on February 15th, 2017. Right now we need your help to ensure the City knows there is widespread opposition to their frog-killing plans.

Please email the SF Board of Supervisors today and tell them you oppose the proposed Significant Natural Resource Areas Management Plan until and unless the Sharp Park Golf Course redevelopment is removed from the plan! You can use the sample email below.

Sample Email (Please sign your name at the bottom of it):

MAIL TO (copy all these email addresses into the CC: field of your composed email):
Board.of.Supervisors@sfgov.org, Sandra.Fewer@sfgov.org, Mark.Farrell@sfgov.org, Aaron.Peskin@sfgov.org, Katy.Tang@sfgov.org, London.Breed@sfgov.org, Conor.Johnston@sfgov.org, Jane.Kim@sfgov.org, Norman.Yee@sfgov.org, Jeff.Sheehy@sfgov.org, Hillary.Ronen@sfgov.org, Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org, Ahsha.Safai@sfgov.org, brent.jalipa@sfgov.org

Subject:
Please protect wetlands and reject any SNRAMP that includes golf course redevelopment

Dear San Francisco Board of Supervisors:
I am writing to urge you to reject the Final Environmental Impact Report (FEIR) for the proposed Significant Natural Resource Areas Management Plan (SNRAMP), unless and until the Sharp Park Golf Course redevelopment is removed from the plan. The vast majority of California’s wetlands have been drained, degraded and destroyed. Sharp Park is home to federally protected, endangered California Red-Legged Frogs (Rana draytonii), California’s official state amphibian. The Board of Supervisors should work to protect, rather than to kill, harm and harass these frogs, which is what happens when the City pumps the Sharp Park Wetlands out to sea, causing the frogs’ egg masses to be stranded on dry land. I wholeheartedly oppose any usage of taxpayer funds that results in the destruction of rare wetland ecosystems or the degradation of important wildlife habitat. Using taxpayer dollars to drain wetlands for non-essential purposes is thoroughly unethical. As such, I again request that you not approve any version of a Significant Natural Resource Areas Management Plan that condones or funds such activities. Please see www.savethefrogs.com/sharp-park for more info, and remember that there are over 1,000 other golf courses in California.

Golf Is Cool

########################
Speak up at San Francisco City Hall February 28th, 2017

Our Appeal hearing before the SF Board of Supervisors is on Tuesday, February 28th at 3:00pm in San Francisco City Hall, Room 250. We need you there at 3:00pm so that you can speak in support of our appeal and protecting Sharp Park wildlife! Please email Julia Chang Frank at Julia4th@yahoo.com if you can be there, and she will provide you with talking points. Thank you for taking action for amphibians!

egg mass sharp park
California Red-Legged Frog eggs stranded on land

#########################
Learn More & Donate

Visit www.savethefrogs.com/sharp-park to learn more. Donate at www.savethefrogs.com/donate to ensure SAVE THE FROGS! has the necessary funds to protect, create and restore amphibian habitat in California, across the USA and around the world. Thank you!

sharp park san francisco

Become A Member

save the frogs members

Donate Now - Thank You!

Newsletter Signup

frog news

Testimonials

"I really appreciate everything you do to raise awareness and protect our amphibian populations!"

Daniel Chatterton, Sacramento, CA

The Frog Lover's Card

1% of Every Purchase Donated To SAVE THE FROGS!
charity charge

Countdown to Save The Frogs Day

10th Annual Save The Frogs Day April 28, 2018 09:00 am 339 Days Away! 10th Annual Save The Frogs Day

Inspiration

"Thoughts lead to actions and actions lead to conditions."

Charles F. Haanel

Website design, photos & content by the SAVE THE FROGS! staff, volunteers and community unless otherwise noted. 
Copyright © 2008-2017 SAVE THE FROGS! All Rights Reserved. SAVE THE FROGS! is a 501(c)(3) public charity, and SAVE THE FROGS! is a registered trademark. Frogs